Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

My Nights are Kicking!

on November 17, 2012

So last time I was talking about the need for sleep, and today I want to discuss one particular reason that I don’t sleep very well. My son kicks me…

It usually starts in around 2 and I can feel the pitter patter of little feet on my side. Then it continues on and on. At 1st it’s adorable and a lovely reminder that I’m going to be a mom soon.. but after a while it’s like chinese water torture and it’s all I can think about. I’m not even going to get into the fact that he sometimes finds himself kicking my bladder and I’m tripping over blankets trying to get to the bathroom before there is an accident.

Then there are the lovely times when my dog is curled up next to my belly and he and my baby have a kicking war. It’s like they don’t get that I’m involved too!!!

But the worst part of his kicking every night… was the 1st night that he didn’t kick. I was laying there awake around 3am… just minding my own business when all of a sudden it hit me that… well.. I wasn’t being hit.. or kicked .. or head butted.  What was going on? Was there something wrong? Was my baby ok? I started tossing back and forth… poking at my belly trying to get a reaction. I started thinking back.. when was the last time I felt him kick… earlier that night? This afternoon at work? ahhh… my mind was racing.. until… thump.. I got my little kick!!! Then he kept me awake for another hour kicking on and off.. There really is no winning.

Leave a Reply

