Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

He’s Here!!!

on March 8, 2013

I am a little late. My boy was born a couple of weeks ago.. but WOW I have been busy!

It was quite a couple of days. I went to the doctor’s for some tests and he decided that the baby had to come out. So I went in later on Tuesday the 19th and they inserted a vaginal suppository used to soften my cervix. I wasn’t allowed to move to 2 hours. I had to lay on my side, because apparently my cervix was a little to the side.

iv-bag-bpaAs the night went on my contractions started. They were coming 2-4 mins apart. I had to sleep on my side still. It was the most uncomfortable night of my life. I was in a birthing table and they are split funny and with me being so tall the split fell in a very painful place.

The next morning they woke me up at like 6am and started my pitocin. This was designed to start the contractions.. which had already started the night before. After all that I was only 1 cm dilated. I went the rest of the day getting more and more fluids and more and more pitocins… which created more and more contractions.

Around 4pm my water finally broke. It was the weirdest feeling ever! I was just sitting in my bed, minding my own business… when all of a sudden…. the flood gates opened. My brother was visiting at the time. I just stopped and said, “um.. I don’t think that I just peed my pants” and my brother responded… “yup, that’s your water” I moved a little bit and SPLASH!! It just continued.

I was so excited! I thought.. ok, here we go now!

A few more hours went by and… still 1 cm dilated. So after over 24 hours of labor my doctor and I decided it best to just cut my son out anyway.

They brought me into the operating room and shot my back up with a morphine based pain-killer.. I hate needles574835_4543140456175_63558737_n and it seemed the lesser of 2 evils to have some shots then to have an IV drip in my back the whole time… Finally they let my boyfriend into the room. He was so adorable in his scrubs! They had a paper tent type thing over our heads so we couldn’t see anything and they proceeded to cut me open. It was a little intense knowing that it was happening. Usually when someone is being cut open they are either asleep or being attacked by a serial killer… this was kind of a combination of both.

After a few minutes we heard it. A little baby cry. The both of us gasped and tears started pouring out of our eyes. Our son was born. They covered up what they could of my entrails and lowered the tent as much as they could to let us see him. He was a bloody mess! But the sweetest bloody mess I’d ever seen.

They then took our son to the table to clean him up and check him out. Neil was allowed to go over with them mommy and jasonand took some pictures. I was so elated to hear my baby’s little cry. They then walked my little boy over to me and laid him on my chest. It was the 1st moment that I saw his little face. I was completely in love!

Unfortunately that didn’t last long and they had to sew me back up. The mean nurse took my boy away and brought him down the hall. The only thing that kept me from chasing after him… aside from the fact that I couldn’t move from the chest down.. was that I knew that Neil was with him and would make sure that our little guy was ok.

After sewing me up, they rolled me onto the traveling gurney.. the scariest thing I have ever experienced 083having no control over my own body.. and wheeled me down to the recovery room where I was greeted by the 2 most important men in my life. Jason Nathaniel was born… and he was all mine. I had never been so happy in my entire life!!!

One response to “He’s Here!!!

  1. […] know how people manage to work while having a baby. I couldn’t do it. I could never leave my baby. I have to give credit to those who […]

Leave a Reply

