Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

Breast feeding… best feeding?

on March 20, 2013

GetAttachmentMy son is almost a month old. I never imagined that breast-feeding would be so difficult. As far as I know babies have been doing this since the dawn of time. So why is it that my baby keeps losing weight?

He was born early. Not much, only 8 days, by c-section. At 1st I thought that this just meant my body hadn’t received the message that it was time for feeding yet. But as time went on and he was losing more and more I realized that this problem wasn’t going to fix itself.

imagesCAOVFZM4I have been going to the doctor’s office every other day with him for weight checks and tips on better ways to feed. The 1st doctor that we dealt with wasn’t my favourite person but I figured that if I could get some info out of her that could help my baby that was all that mattered, unfortunately she wasn’t very helpful.

Thankfully the doctor’s office to which we go has a few different people whom I can talk to and after a couple of weeks we got our chance at another woman. She was very pleasant and wrote me a script for something that would help my milk come in. My not having enough milk never even crossed the last woman’s mind.. in her world breast-feeding was all about putting your foot on a stool.

I have been following all of the rules and getting myself very sleep deprived and sick, but nothing was 042helping. We have had visiting nurses come in and check his weight and 2 different runs of blood tests all of which have told me that he has no problem with breast milk or gaining weight when we have supplemented formula… something the 1st doctor was adamant about not trying…

So as far as we can tell.. the problem is with me. One of the visiting nurses suggested that I didn’t have enough ducts. I didn’t even know this could be a problem. She has suggested some strap on feeder that may be able to help. At this point I am willing to try anything. I will be discussing it with the doctor today. We will see what happens. I don’t want to stop breast-feeding. The benefits are too great, but I can’t starve my baby either. Supplementing may have to be the way.

2 responses to “Breast feeding… best feeding?

  1. […] Breast feeding… best feeding? Mar […]

  2. I had serious problems breast feeding too. Here’s my story. http://www.lipstickandplaydates.com/

Leave a Reply

