Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

Take a Hike

on April 7, 2014

safe_imageYesterday was fabulously fun… but quite comical. My family goes on a weekly hike, weather permitting, and we take the kids. It’s not a big mountain expedition with a 4-year-old, a baby and a diabetic father… but it’s a nice hour in the woods.

Well, now that Jason is walking my dad and brother just assumed that he would be trekking it himself. They apparently are morons who, even though they have and are raising their own kids, have no concept of the walking attention span of a 13 month old.

I put him in the front pack carrier and spent a good chunk of time covering his eyes because the regular path was so flooded that we had to navigate the nearby woods to get around the lakes that were normally our walk way. Since we were off the beaten path there was a lot of branches flinging back at our faces and I wanted to make sure Jason left the woods with both of his eyes in tact. At one point my nephew got stuck in the center of a watery slide on a rock and was unable to figure out how to get to the next destination. I had to fall back, baby on board and all, and grab hold of him and get him across. All I kept thinking was.. oh, yeah.. my 1-year-old would be great at this.

When we got to the top of the hill I let the little man run around and explore. He had a blast. Though we’ve been walking this trail, pretty much his whole life, he’s never been able to get out and touch things himself. My father was shocked that once down he wasn’t able to just walk along with us and was distracted by… well.. dirt. I have no idea how my brother and I survived him to be honest.

After about 10 mins of playing we decided to move back down the hill. Jason was less interested in holding my hand and being directed so he was captured and fastened back into my carrier pack. I will say that I am looking forward to the day I don’t have to walk up that hill with an extra 25 lbs attached, but we’re not there yet.

Leave a Reply

