Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

Baby Weight

on April 9, 2014

1467466_10152030431401602_281185331_nSo I knew that I would be putting on weight when I had my baby. I was expecting this. What I wasn’t expecting was the lack of time and inability to exercise after the baby was born. I have had some serious weight ups and downs in my life and during my old marriage I had put on a boat load of weight, but it all came falling off after the divorce with the exercise that I loved doing.

I took dance classes and martial arts and my family loves to hike so we were out there a couple times a week as well as doing my 3 mile walk with my dog almost everyday in the good weather. It was something that I loved doing and looked forward to it.

My pregnancy got a bit complicated, I had placenta previa and was told to limit my activity. Then I had a c-section and again on limited activity. After a year of not a lot of movement it was difficult for me to get back out there. Though I am still trying. I live in New England so the weather constraints, especially with a baby, is not easy to work around either.

I have looked into gym packages and classes, but to be honest I really don’t want to leave my baby any more than I have to. So I have decided to do what I’ve always done.. and stop depending on other people. I have signed Jason up for some classes now that he’s up and walking. We’re doing Zumbini, swim lessons and in the fall we’reworkout-moves-with-baby-in-tow-main-2 going to be starting mom and tot gymnastics. These are all well and good for him and me to a certain extent.. but I need something a little more geared to me. So I started looking up mom and baby exercises. I don’t want to miss out on a minute of my baby’s life.. but I also don’t want to give up on mine either.

One response to “Baby Weight

Leave a Reply

