Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

Remembering to have a life… after you create one.

on June 9, 2014

safe_image1This has been a very hectic weekend. It has also been a great reminder of how I have to make an effort to keep in touch with those that I care about.

My week ended with my having to attend an old friend’s father’s wake. To be fair he was more a friend of my brother’s but I have known him since I was 16 and used to be quite close to him. Then life happened and we catch up here and there with the seasonal text and Facebook update, but other than that we are practically strangers.

safe_imageSince I was going to be in the area I decided to call up an old colleague of mine whom I used to dinner with weekly, but again since life has course corrected I have seen, now 3 times I think, since my son was born. Of course, my son still came with me to the dinners.. and my friend was completely ok with that… though it’s amazing how I put off or don’t make an effort a lot of times because I don’t want to put out my childless friends by bringing my son a long, but in reality my friends completely understand and usually enjoy him.

Then today was the double graduation of… well the relationship is kind of complicated.. let’s10460704_10152460307806602_1881932296750843487_n just say I remember when each of them was born. They are sisters and one graduated from high school.. the other college. It’s insane how time has flown by and I feel like I never see them any more. For a while there I was making an effort and attending the plays that the younger one was in… they were actually quite good so it was no bother at all… but again as time went on.. and my life got more complicated the drifting grew further and further apart.

I will say that both of the girls attended my baby shower.. but this was the 1st time that they had1979848_10152460305976602_2267334346085250684_n< met my son…. he's 15 months old!!! How is that possible? And as I mentioned these were old family friends… I was close with their WHOLE family at one point… I used to go for ice cream and have spooky tarot card readings with their grandmother for crying out loud and now.. I'm not even sure she knew I had a baby prior to this.

We all promised to keep in touch.. and though we meant it.. we also knew that it wasn't highly likely… but I will say that I am going to do my best. I don't want more years and decades to go by and they next time I see them is my son's graduation… or the next wake.

One response to “Remembering to have a life… after you create one.

  1. It’s amazing how relationships change after you become a mother. It seems like in the past 2.5 years, I’ve lost touch with so many people, but the ones who’ve hung around are closer than ever.

Leave a Reply

