Mommy Talk

Being a mom ain't easy

How does one forget their own child?

on July 7, 2014

hot carIt is all over the news and social media sites and pretty much every where you turn around. Some child has been left in a car to die. The latest one to take over the screens is about a father who Googled kids and pets dying in cars… and how he and his wife only looked it up because they were soooo afraid that it could happen to them

Really? If you were so afraid that you had to research this why were you not more diligent in checking your backseat. My grandmother was paranoid about not locking doors and not turning off the stove.. it wouldn’t matter if she hadn’t used the stove in weeks she would check and double-check it before heading out. Before having my son my most prized possession was my phone. I would check, double-check…Carseat2 triple check that I had it before leaving the house.. and on those rare occasions when somehow it did get over looked.. like I left it on the table or in the purse I decided not to take.. I would notice immediately and rush home for it… but I have to say I have NEVER forgotten my child on the table or in his bed while I was rushing off.

In fact you never hear of anyone doing that. No one “forgets” their child at the house as they rush off for the day. No one “forgets” their child after a nice meal at a restaurant in which the child fell asleep in a chair left to the side as to be out-of-the-way during dinner. No one forgets their child in the cart while loading groceries… or at the park because 6-17-14-baby-dies-in-hot-car-Kristin-5pthey get an important phone call. So why is it so “understandable” that someone forget their child in the backseat of the car, just because they didn’t look. I think anyone who can just forget to take care of their kid is putting the child in danger.. that is pretty much the definition of child neglect.. when YOU FORGET YOUR CHILD!

If you forget to feed them its neglect… if you forget to change your child it’s neglect.. if you don’t pick up your kid from daycare.. NEGLECT. So why is it that if you forget your child in a car ALL DAY it’s just a tragic accident? Sounds to me like a self-absorbed asshole at the least…. and a murderer at most… Either way, send them to jail and keep kids away from them!

Leave a Reply

